Whipped Lemon Icebox Tart

Lemon Icebox Tart

Does food speak to you? It definitely speaks to me, and right now it’s the lemons screaming, “it’s spring, it’s spring!”  I seem to want lemon everything, and as I walked through the grocery store this week, I could almost hear the big bag of beautiful lemons whisper, “take me home”; so I did!

I absolutely love lemon curd – the tanginess that’s still somehow sweet and the silkiness that’s punctuated by bits of lemon zest so that you know it’s the real thing. I could eat it by the bowlful, but I usually try to show some self-control and share my golden treasure with others.

I’ve found that there are some people out there who find the pure lemon curd too overpowering (gasp!), and when serving a crowd, it might be best to town it down a little. I give you, my Whipped Lemon Icebox Tart.

I’d say this is more of a method than a recipe, but hey, maybe it’s something you haven’t thought of! Use your favorite lemon curd recipe (I’ve linked to Ina Garten’s below), and lighten it with homemade or store bought whipped topping. Smooth it into a prepared pie or tart shell, either homemade or store-bought, regular or graham cracker (decisions, decisions), and you have a beautiful spring dessert that’s easy, but sure to impress. I think this Whipped Lemon Icebox Tart would look fabulous on my Easter Table this year!

Lemon Tart

Whipped Lemon Icebox Tart

  • 2 cups homemade Lemon Curd
  • 2 cups freshly whipped Cream or store-bought Whipped Topping, plus extra for decorations if desired
  • 1 baked Pie Crust or Tart Shell, homemade or store bought
  • Lemon Twist for garnish

Place lemon curd in a large bowl. Add one large spoonful of whipped cream, and stir to combine. This will begin to lighten the curd. Add remaining whipped cream and gently fold in until combined. Spoon into pie shell and smooth top.

If desired, place extra whipped cream in a piping bag fitted with a star tip and pipe stars around edge of tart.

Place tart in the freezer for 2-3 hours to set, pull out  30 minutes to an hour before serving. (I like to pull the tart out to display as we sit down to eat, and by the time we are ready for dessert, it’s ready to cut!)

Leave a comment