Kale Greens, Simply Dressed

Kale Greens

Kale has always been my favorite in the “greens” family; it’s heartier texture holds up well to cooking and milder flavor pleases my palate. And now, I have found my new favorite way to cook and serve them!

My typical method for greens was to fry up a little bacon, saute some onion in the grease, add the greens with a mixture of water, vinegar, and sugar, and cook down for a few minutes. Top with the bacon and enjoy! That’s how mom makes them, and they are so good that way, but not too long ago I tried something a different, and it was a winner.

When you cook the greens in liquid, they can overcook really quickly (especially when you have a tendency to walk away from the stove for a minute, like yours truly!), which leads to mushy greens – not my favorite. So I got to thinking about how to add the flavor without adding the extra liquid. I decided to lightly saute the greens, and then dress them after they’re done and still warm. It worked wonderfully.

Kale starts as a giant pile of greens that you think will never all fit in your pot, and then it cooks down to such a tiny amount that you’re sure a kale thief broke into your house and stole it all when you weren’t looking. Because it can be so unwieldy at the start of cooking, I always found it hard to make sure all the greens were seasoned evenly while cooking. Waiting until after they are cooked to add my seasoning fixed my problem, and the easiest method for me was to toss them in a simple vinaigrette (plus we all know how much I love a vinaigrette).

The kale comes out crisp-tender and evenly coated with the vinegar flavor that pairs so well with any green, and I feel like I haven’t cooked my veggies to death and still have all of the nutritional benefits of what has come to be known as a “superfood”. Plus, it just tastes super!

Kale Greens with Vinaigrette

  • 2 bunches fresh Kale – rinsed, drained, and roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard
  • 2 tablespoons Red Wine or Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt

Start by making the dressing so that it is ready, as the kale will not take long to cook.

In the bottom of your serving bowl, whisk together mustard, vinegar, maple syrup, and salt. Set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a large pot (really large, I use the biggest soup pot I have) over medium high heat. Add the kale and saute for one minute, tossing and stirring constantly. Reduce heat to medium, cover the pot and steam greens for one more minute.

Place greens in serving bowl with dressing, and toss to coat. Serve immediately.

Leave a comment